Craft Cocktail: Ginger Basil Screwdriver

So, most people grow basil in their gardens and on their balconies so they can spice up their salads, add it fresh to grilled pizzas, and save money when making copious amounts of bruschetta. And, these reasons all hold true for me as uses of my basil. But, truth be told, I began growing balcony basil so I could make this drink.

If I have the time and no repercussions, I could drink these all day and into the night. It is also important to note, that if you are feeling under the weather or don’t want to consume alcohol you can easily substitute soda water for the vodka (post shaking) and enjoy as a virgin delight. I have done that only once, so I knew I could post about it here. I like the real deal.

Here are the ingredients:

1 1/2 oz vodka
1/2 oz ginger syrup
2 basil leaves
2 oz. orange juice
ice

Directions:
In a lowball glass, muddle one basil leaf with oj and syrup. Fill lowball with cubed ice. Add vodka (I suggest Svedka because it basically disappears as a mixer and it’s cheap). empty all contents into shaker. Cover and shake until fingers hurt, then three more times. Empty all contents back into the lowball glass. Smack second basil leaf and add as garnish. Just like the Freedom River, this herb adds its wonderful essential oils to the entire taste experience, so DO NOT SKIP the garnish!

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

